We would like you to discover more about the oenological station - a very important slice of history found in Felanitx
Since the beginning of the 20th century, there have been two unique buildings in Felanitx protecting the memory of wine in the region. On one hand, the powerful structure of the Celler Cooperatiu and the tragedy of its current situation. On the other, the oenological Station. Both make up the still photo of the viticultural history of that period. In both cases, today they no longer serve the purpose for which they were created. While the magnificent headquarters building of the Sindicat, designed by the architect Guillem Forteza on the hill that overlooks Felanitx, awaits a project to rescue it from oblivion, the Oenological Station, by the engineer Antoni Ballester, has experienced a different fate. Since its construction in 1913, the building, whose main entrance opens onto Paseo Ramon Llull, has experienced a century of different phases determining its history, from the original project dedicated to scientific, pedagogical and informative activities, until the present, when it has been partially re-used to host different public services.